You may wonder what legalizing recreational marijuana in Massachusetts means for people in Boston and elsewhere in the state. The most crucial fact is that those above 21 may legally use marijuana. You must have a legally-issued picture ID to prove your age. Nothing will change if you are currently a qualified medicinal marijuana patient. Recreational laws are regulated by a separate body from medical legislation. Is weed legal in Massachusetts? Let’s figure it out!
Necessary Marijuana Restrictions in Massachusetts
On government property or in public, you cannot consume marijuana in any manner. In addition to the one ounce of marijuana, you may also have no more than five grams of marijuana concentrate. When operating a vehicle in a public location or while on public transportation, it is illegal to consume any alcoholic beverage, including marijuana, in an open container.
Put it somewhere secure, like the trunk or the lockable glove box. It is a violation of the law to operate a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana. Don’t get behind the wheel if you’ve been using it. Use other transportation methods, such as public transit or ridesharing.
Age Restrictions for Buying Recreational Marijuana
Only those above 21 are permitted to use marijuana for recreational purposes in Massachusetts. The following are some of the consequences of breaking this rule:
- A $100 fine and participation in a drug education program are in store for anybody between 18 and 20 who is caught buying or attempting to buy marijuana, marijuana goods, or marijuana accessories
- Anyone under 17 caught buying or attempting to buy marijuana will be subject to a fine of up to $100 and mandatory participation in a drug education program. The police will contact the child’s parents or guardian. They’ll be sent to juvenile court if they don’t finish the drug education program within a year after the infraction.
What is the Purchase Limit on Recreational Marijuana in Massachusetts?
Recreational marijuana, like most good things, has its limitations. Both cannabis consumers and businesses in Massachusetts must abide by the regulations laid out by the Massachusetts Cannabis Control Commission. Here are the Massachusetts purchasing minimums and maximums:
- Up to an ounce of cannabis flower may be purchased. This may be a high-quality dried flower, shake, or cannabis
- In Massachusetts, edibles cannot contain more than 5mg of THC per serving. The total THC in the container cannot exceed 100mg, and there must be no more than 20 servings. There are many kinds of edibles, from chocolate bars to gummies, so locating your favorites and discovering new ones will be easy
- As much concentration as five grams is available for purchase. This includes but is not limited to shatter, resin, live resin, RSO, and any other concentration available today
You may also choose to complete many restrictions at once. Half an ounce of cannabis, two one-gram vape cartridges, and a few edible chocolate bars are all within legal limits. You might, instead, spend the maximum allowed on your preferred focus.
Where can you Smoke weed without getting in trouble?
Smoking, eating, or vaping cannabis or cannabis products is permitted on private land. Also, similar to tobacco, cannabis products cannot be smoked in areas where such activities are forbidden. Marijuana for recreational and medical use may be transported in a vehicle and stored in a secured trunk or glove box.
It’s against the law to get behind the wheel when high on marijuana. Marijuana use is prohibited in all moving vehicles. Public service is not permitted, although the Commission does provide local governments the right to legalize cafés, smoke rooms, and other opportunities for social consumption.
In Massachusetts, is it legal to cultivate your weed?
Now that marijuana is legal in Massachusetts, residents may grow six plants. There may be up to 12 people in a household with several adults. Growing your weed is exempt from the possession limitations discussed before. Patients seeking medical marijuana who are interested in cultivating their plants must first register for hardship.
They may plant as many seeds here as they need to provide weed for 60 days. The patient’s caretaker is also permitted to grow plants for them. Many head stores and dispensaries in the Bay State have cannabis seeds for sale. Shopping from an online marijuana seed bank gives you a far more extensive selection. Also, read about the legality of weed in Washington.
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts is now seeking to reform its cannabis industry’s unequal legal framework. The objective is to level the playing field so that small, local firms, especially those owned by individuals, can compete successfully against multinational conglomerates. A measure in the Senate would let local governments decide whether or not to legalize cannabis pubs and lounges for social use.